Big fleet enjoys windy racing

Seventeen boats rigged up on the shore of Lake Jindabyne after a hot summer's day on Wednesday of last week for heat ten of the 2013/14 season. Ian Foster manned the start boat sending the fleet off on a port rounding course in a strong North Easterly breeze.

Graeme Bradbury led the 12 boat mono-hull fleet and Tim Symons the five boat catamaran fleet to the Quarry mark for the first time. The two fleets headed off on the next leg with the wind on the far side of the island shifting towards the north. This gave the sailors a challenging one leg starboard tack all the way to the Peninsular or Mountain marks. The sailors who completed this leg in one tack gained a great advantage over others who needed an extra two tacks to round the mark.

Phil Daly and Nick Kirshner on the Flying Fifteen slipped to the front of the mono-hull fleet. Tim led the cats while Nick Deacon on his Hobie 17and Randy Wieman and Errol Hanlon on the Hobie 16 kept chasing. Barry Dennis and Steve Ashe completed the cat fleet.

The boats zoomed around the full length five lap course with plenty of breeze. Randy and Errol raced well until they left out the final windward / leeward legs, didn't complete the whole course and returned to the beach early. The gusty breeze challenged the sailors with some of the lasers having to recover from capsizes.

Tim led the cats to the finish for a handicap win followed by Nick, Barry and Steve A.

After a tough, physical race, Phil led the mono-hulls to the finish followed by Graeme Bradbury, Steve Osborne, Gote Vikstrom, Martin Van Weel, Jason Abbott, Kerry McGaw, Ross Tattersall, Leigh Van Weel and Steve Truscott and John Byrne on the NS 14. Ross Lawley and Tristyn Lowe returned to the beach early. The handicap corrected times gave Phil and Nick another win by only nine seconds from Ross T, Martin, Kerry, Leigh, Jason, Gote, Steve O, Graeme and Steve T.

A gusty and shifting Westerly breeze tested the 10 boats that raced twice around Lion and Cub islands on the afternoon of Saturday. Nick Deacon sailed his Hobie 17 to the front of the mixed fleet, while Tim Symons slipped to the rear of the fleet with a slow first tack. He then had to pass all the lasers on his way to the Mountain mark.

Nick and Tim battled tack for tack with each other on the long windward work between the islands and the claypits. The lasers all held their own races within the race too. Steve Osborne and Graeme Bradbury battled at the front of the laser fleet. Martin Van Weel, Gote Vikstrom, Kerry McGaw and Ross Tattersall on their Laser Radials all battled and swapped tacks too. Terry Lee joined the fleet on his Laser for the first time this season along with Martin and Clancy Bannister on their Hobie 14.

After nearly two hours of sailing, Tim led Nick back to the beach by only 11 seconds. Steve led the lasers home just ahead of Graeme and followed by Martin, Gote, Ross, Terry Kerry and Martin and Clancy. Martin VW took the handicap corrected times win followed by Ross, Gote, Graeme, Kerry, Steve, Tim, Terry, Nick and Martin B.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide