Close tussle in District comp

An exciting and hard-fought round of the Monaro District Fours was played at at the Jindabyne Bowling and Sports Club last weekend . The club was represented by three teams, Keith Maynard, Matt Brown, Greg Isle and David (JT) Turner, Laurie Whitehead, Brendan Skelly, Phil Jefferson and Chris Demczuk and Gordon Griffin, Ray Nichols, Vic Weston and Tony Butler.

The team led by Tony Butler were beaten in the first round by the Cooma team led by M Storta. The team led by Chris Demczuk had a first round bye, but defeated the Cooma team led by P Cannell in second round action.

On Sunday morning semi-final action, the teams led by David (JT) Turner and Chris Demczuk faced off against each other.

Chris Demczuk's team ran out winners to advance to the afternoon final against the Cooma team, led by M Storta.

In the final, the Jindabyne team fell behind early and were unable to make up the difference, falling to the Cooma team.

Congratulations to M Storta and his team.

This coming weekend, the Monaro District Triples will be contested at the Cooma Bowling Club. The Jindabyne Bowling and Sports Club will be represented by three teams. the teams competeing are, Mat Brown, David McDonald and Mat Griffiths, Vic Weston, Ray Nichols and Tony Butlerand Keith Maynard Brendan Skelly and David (JT) Turner. Bets of luck to all local bowlers.

The Friday evening roast run is again up and running. Those wishing to play can find the nomination sheet on the mens bowls noticeboard or phon into the club on 6456 2133.

Names to be in by 5pm for a 5.30pm start.

Anyone interested in playing, come along and enjoy a great evening of bowls.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide