Sailing season opens on Lake Jindabyne

LAKE Jindabyne Sailing Club started the 2013/14 sailing season with heat one of the Twilight series on Wednesday evening last week. Nine mono-hulls and two catamarans turned up on a warm, sunny, spring evening to race on Lake Jindabyne. Ian Foster manned the start boat and set the fleet off from the club mark in an anti-clockwise direction on a port course.

The mono-hulls made a good start from the buoy end of the line while Tim Symons started his Hobie 17 near the start boat. Nick Kennedy was still rigging his Hobie 17 and hadn't yet left the start. Tim rounded the Quarry mark first followed closely by Ross Tattersall and is laser. Nick Kennedy left the beach and chased after the fleet.

The boats headed broad reach in the shifty middle strength breeze. The cats went to the Mountain mark and the mono-hulls to the Peninsular mark. Nick Kennedy used the increasing following breeze to chase down Tim and catch him by the mark rounding. He then passed Tim on the long Windward leg back to the Bay mark.

Meanwhile Phil Daley and Nick Kirshner on the Flying Fifteen slipped to the front of the monohull fleet with clever use of their spinnaker. The following laser sailors battled with each other while trying to catch the Flying Fifteen.

The boats completed the shortened the course while the sun started to set behind the mountains. After many close battles Phil and Nick led the mono-hulls home followed by Steve Osborne, Jason Abbott, Damian Goninan, Kerry McGaw, Steve Ashe, Ross Lawley, Ross Tattersall, and Martin Van Weel. Nick led Tim to the finish line in the cat's race.

The first heat of the 2013/14 Saturday series was held on Saturday. Two catamarans and three Lasers rigged up to take on the strong Westerly breeze on Lake Jindabyne. They started from the beach - Tim Symons had to return to the beach when his sail started to fall down. The course took all the boats out to the Mountain mark in the very shifty and inconsistent breeze. Nick Kennedy zoomed ahead of the others. Tim finally passed the Lasers and set out in pursuit of Nick. All the sailors enjoyed many fast rides in the gusty breeze. All the Lasers capsized at various points in the course.

Nick led the fleet back to the beach by a large margin, followed by Tim. Martin Van Weel and Kerry McGaw battled each other with Martin just getting ahead on the last windward work. They were followed back to the beach by Ross Tattersall.

The handicap corrected times gave Nick the win followed by Martin and Kerry. Tim and Ross tied for fourth place with equal corrected times.

Lake Jindabyne Sailing Club holds regular races at 6 pm on Wednesdays and 3pm on Saturdays. Sailors of all levels are welcome to join in the fun on Lake Jindabyne.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide